Top 5 Study Tips

Here are my top 5 tips to help you ace your next test.

1. Use your time wisely.

This is where most people struggle, even when you don’t feel like studying try doing just 5 minutes because the hardest part is starting. Don’t leave everything to the last minute. Plan ahead and split up your task, use a monthly view planner (a print works great as well).

2. Use post its.

I use these in a few ways, one is when I’m studying from a textbook or making notes mark important topics or questions and have it sticking out the top or side. This way you will easily be able to find it later. I also use post its make concept maps or glow charts, I especially like putting them on my wall for a nice cohesive visual. Another way is to place them around you, like your locker, bedroom, closet doors, fridge door, etc. now every time you go open a door or walk into a room you will see what you need to know.

3. The importance of the right pens

The right pens can make a world of a difference. The style and colour is very important. When creating a study sheet or notes, develop your legend, use a blue or black pen, (I preferred the case mate, the Walmart brand, in black) and 3 colours, 2 complimentary and 1 contrasting, and either one more colour pen or a highlighter for titles. Decide what colour is going to represent what. This can vary subject to subject. Using this method has been proven to help your brain retain more information, so why not make your notes more fun and learn more at the same time. Instead of highlighting titles I prefer using a colour. Flair pens (felt tip marker but very thin) are my favourite over plain coloured pens, I find them more vibrant and visible making it easier to picture in my head.


4. Flash cards

These are a popular method, but need to be done right in order to be affective. Similarly to the lasts tip, use different colours, brighter/lighter are best. Use a different colour for each topic or unit, it will help your brain to keep things organized and help recall important information. Flash cards are best when there are lots of vocabulary words or theories but if you have more equations or diagrams I recommend the next tip. 

5. Study sheet/guide

For topics with list of diagrams, topics that are not so easily summarized study sheets are the best way to go. I like this method especially for chemistry. I am a very visual person, and I am picture things better during a test. Use this tip in combination with tip #3 for optimal results. If you are not the best at drawing (for example, me) print out your diagrams for a cleaner finish. I use page protectors since I bring my study sheets all over with me. That way if something spills it doesn’t ruin them, you’ll thank me later. 
*Bonus tip: instead of coffee try light exercise or moving while studying later at night or when you start to feel tired. Also try a shower or cold glass of water to help keep your brain stimulated.

Thanks for reading. Good luck on your next test. Next post Monday January 23rd. 

~Tori Scherle~

Leave a Reply

